Some people come to DC for politics…Others come for shopping.

25 Feb

Everyone who knows me can acquiesce to the fact that I undoubtedly adore shopping.  It doesn’t even have to result in buying anything, just fashion in general is always what I’ve loved.

Sooo, I felt RIGHT at home in Georgetown.  Being from a relatively small city/town, I have to satisfy my designer hunger elsewhere in other big cities, so to have a town that is a quick trip away from where I’m staying is incredible – probably dangerous to my wallet, but amazing nonetheless.

It reminded me of a mix between an artsy area I have back home and a small boutique district in Toronto- but with its own uniqueness.

I definitely have to say that Georgetown is one of my favorite spots  here – and not JUST because of the wonderful shopping (Betsey Johnson anyone?), but it is the ONLY spot (that I’ve seen so far) with a Bubble Tea café.  Back home there was a little shop where I would go so often that the owner knew me, but after it closed I wasn’t able to find anywhere to go that made a good authentic bubble tea.  Immediately I knew that I would be visiting Georgetown quite frequently.

The houses there are absolutely beautiful too.  They’re not very big, but they have the sort of charm that makes you want to live there some day.  The brightly painted doors, the iron wrought fences, and the window boxes that are sure to be filled with flowers in the spring- these are all aspects that put this town at the top of my “Favorites” list.

This post is an incredibly appropriate precursor to tonight’s event- which should include a show for DC Fashion Week.  Obviously I am looking forward to that VERY much.

Leave a comment