I should probably talk about my internship…

1 Mar

I love my internship site.  I am working in the Governmental Affairs office at the American Bar Association, and I am so happy that I accepted this internship.

When I first saw my building, I was in complete awe.  It was so big and I couldn’t even believe that I was going to be able to work in such a beautiful place.
Everyone is so friendly and nice, and always more than willing to help whenever I have questions or concerns.  I was a little nervous at first because I had an amazing experience at my last internship in Buffalo, and I didn’t want to be too disappointed if this placement wasn’t as “good”.

After the first day or so, I came to the conclusion that I had NOTHING to worry about at all.
Not only was everyone friend and helpful, but the atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable. Everyone is always busy and working hard, but there is still a sense of tranquility.

The DC branch of the ABA is the second of two.  The main headquarters is in Chicago and has about 800 employees, whereas there are “only” about 300 here. There are numerous sections (departments) here, and they do more than I thought.  I was stupid enough to think that the ABA only dealt with the LSAT (which they’re thinking of getting rid of…) and the Bar exam.  But my assignments and division proved me wrong!

Basically the other intern and I work for the Legislative Counsels here.  My first task was given from one of the head grassroots lobbyists to make a list of the current Reps in the House that remain cosponsors for a current introduced bill.  Since I already started on that, the woman that I’m doing work for currently, basically assigned me the task of researching this bill- the history, the components, the Federal rules, etc- and teach HER!  She knows nothing about it, and since I said I was interested in health care issues because of my background, she wanted to work with me.  After research, I write what they call- a “one pager” that the ABA publishes for citizens, as well as Congress, to read and understand.  I give a little background info, state the ABA position, and then the reason why we do or do not want a bill passed.

Since starting here, I have attended over 6 Congressional hearings and/or mark-ups, written memos for said hearings, researched various House subcommittees and their members for projects, and put together a binder for the ABA midterm meeting that just occurred recently.

I am definitely kept busy, which is really nice, and not a day passes where I don’t learn something new or interesting.

Leave a comment