Finance is cool….what?!

25 Feb

Working at the ABA has been a great experience so far.  I am learning about and researching topics that I never would have touched before interning here because they never appealed to me.

Since starting here, I’ve attended many financial hearings and have had to write-up memos about the topics, which can only be done after understanding the topic.  Now that I’ve HAD to learn something about finance with regards to our government, I find myself reading up on the topic more often.  That is one scary thing – mostly because when dealing with finance, math is usually involved and I get along with math just about as well as the Titanic got along with icebergs. The national debt and Fannie and Freddie are just two of the numerous financial topics that I have read about to understand, and now that I have some (slight, very slight) semblance of comprehension, I wish I had read up on these topics a long time ago.

So, my goal of learning new things has definitely been fulfilled since I never would have dreamed of trying to understand finance.  Especially because it’s the type of subject that has many parts, so to understand one thing you have to know about the other.  For example, in order to fully comprehend what the national debt is, you have to understand that there are two types of debt: that which is held by the public and intragovernmental holdings.

I’m not saying that I’d drop everything and run to a career in finance, but at least now I have a new perspective about most of what I will be working on.

Leave a comment